Regarding Writers’ Block

It’s been my experience that writers suffering from a block are dealing with one of two things – Either they are going in the wrong direction with their work, or a particular stress (family, work, illness etc) prevents them from mentally making room for their writing.

Of course if that were true wouldn’t other artists experience the same thing? I’ve never heard painters, photographers or choreographers go on about being stuck the way writers do. What is it about writing in particular…

If you’ve found yourself blocked the following articles have some useful tips for getting back on track.

Types of Writers Blocks and how to overcome them

7 ways to overcome writers’ block. Check out look at number 7 on this list. I’m totally trying it.

13 famous writers on overcoming writers block

Or perhaps you just need to make time for feeding yourself as Ray Bradbury suggests. “If you stuff yourself full of poems, essays, plays, stories, novels, films, comic strips, magazines and music, you will automatically explode every morning like Old Faithful. I have never had a dry period in my life because I feed myself well.” – Ray Bradbury

What are your tips for overcoming writers’ block?

3 Comments

Filed under Writing

3 responses to “Regarding Writers’ Block

  1. I absolutely hate writers block but I know why I am getting it for long periods of time: going to school full time. I try to write during class but sometimes it just gets pushed to the back burner because I am so exhausted.
    I am looking forward to trying some of the tips out!

Leave a Reply

