Dee Tales: The Machine

38 - The Machine

Dee Tales are whimsical stories inspired by photographs taken with my i-phone. A tiny story for you, a wee sense of accomplishment for me. Enjoy.

It’s six in the morning and there’s a line outside the warehouse. Many of us can’t stand for long due to age or illness, but thankfully there are chairs. Hours later when I reach the front, I stumble. It looked so much smaller on the news. The metal almost looks angry.

“Have a seat.” The operator instructs me. There are no wires or electrodes. Just a chair, still warm from the last person who used it.

“You ready?” I nod. “You sure?” The operator gives a wink and then turns a crank.

Blurry images speed past. Too fast for my brain to register.

“Do you want to leave a copy with the archives?” I nod. Make as many copies as you’d like.

I’m handed the recording. For a machine so huge, it produces something very small.

“Thank you.” I say as I slipping it into my purse.

“No problem.” The operator says motioning to the next person. When I go home I will watch it. Not on fast forward as it was recorded, but slowly, in order. One memory at a time.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

