Dee Tales: Ant Farm

12 - Ant Farm

Dee Tales are whimsical stories inspired by photographs taken with my i-phone. A tiny story for you, a wee sense of accomplishment for me. Enjoy.

It was my first week here. I remember because my electricity was out. Since everything was in boxes I couldn’t easily find a flashlight or candles, so I got in my car and drove to my nearest neighbour. He said his name was Hampton and yes, I could borrow a flashlight. He’d even lend me his camping stove, but next time please don’t show up unannounced. On his property was the longest and tallest barn I’d ever seen. I asked what he raised. He didn’t answer.

The next time I saw him he was covering something in the back of his pick-up with a tarp. I was driving past and couldn’t quite make out what it was, but I thought I saw an antennae.

A few weeks later, Hampton rings my doorbell smelling of bourbon. I thought he had come for the camping stove but it turned out he wanted salt. Lots of it. I gave him what I had which wasn’t much. Then, in a whisper, he asked if I had any raid. No, I said. I didn’t believe in chemicals. He wobbled down my porch steps mumbling that maybe the Edwards could help him out. Should you be driving? I ask. But he’s down the driveway before I can protest.

A few days later news cameras capture footage of the ants. Toronto Animal Services hasn’t had much success in capturing them so citizens have started taking things into their own hands. Unfortunately the ant’s gigantic size and thick exoskeletons make them hard to kill. Turns out, they’re also really fast.

I jumped in my car. The barn was still there, empty.

Hampton was gone.

I drive to the Edwards Farm. I get caught before I can get close enough. They are friendly, but stern. I shouldn’t be disturbing their stock.

The barn wasn’t as long and it wasn’t as tall, and like I said, I didn’t get a good look.

But I could have sworn I heard buzzing.

Leave a comment

Filed under Dee Tales

Leave a Reply

