Dee Tales: The New Gatekeeper

02 - The New Gate-Keeper

Dee Tales are whimsical stories inspired by photographs taken with my i-phone. A tiny story for you, a wee sense of accomplishment for me. Enjoy.

Where my stone lion usually sits is a large owl.
“What happened to Henry?” I ask.
“He took the day off. I’m Louise.” Henry never mentioned he wanted a break, but animate stone creatures are sometimes unpredictable like that.
“Okay.” I say. “Cantaloupe.”
“Pardon?”
“Cantaloupe. It’s the password.”
“No, it’s not.” The babies hiding under her wings giving a small hoot.
“It is. Didn’t Henry tell you?”
“Sorry.” she says extending her wings in defiance. “You cannot pass.” My experience with Henry tells me it’s useless to argue. Of course Henry always remembered the right password.
I pull out my phone. I’ll crash on a friend’s couch tonight. I’m going to have a long talk with Henry in the morning.

Leave a comment

Filed under Dee Tales

Leave a Reply

